Hampshire Hackers Golf Society     |     home
back to  Hampshire Hackers Golf Society  
AGM Outcome

AGM Minutes

Wickham Park Golf Club on Friday 15th January 2016. 7:30pm.

Hon Chairman:
Matthew opened the meeting at 7:30pm, welcoming members and their guests.

Hon Secretary:
Adrian mentioned that we had a healthy membership with 59 members throughout the 2015 season, including the corporate members. During the year we had 9 applications to join, although not all had taken up the opportunity. However, we welcome our first proper lady member, Rachel McDermott. Hopefully this will encourage more ladies to consider joinging us. He mentioned that even though we had a healthy membership it always seemed to be the main core of members that attend and support and that it is the ethos of inviting guests along that helps bring ion fresh blood and also keeps the numbers up to make us what we are today. He also covered the charity day in so much as 96 people attended and played the event, and that was testament to how well we put on the event, kept it reasonably priced and how popular it had become. We had raised just over £7000 and each charity had written to us thanking us for their donation.
On our usual events, 195 people had attended over the year and 42 of these were guests and were actively encouraged.

Hon Treasurer:
Pete Stubbs presented the books to the members present and supplied them with a print out of the income and expenditure of the Society's main bank account. (for security reasons the figures are not shown here). He had also bought the actual books in for anyone present to check through.

Hon Handicap Secretary:
Ray reminded usagain, that if we were cut shots last year for winning etc they will be returned 12 months on. It was also the responsibility of the member to notify Ray directly if their club handicap had altered in any way and to do it prio to an event as they would not be changed until afterwards unless the position gave more shots than allowed. Ray also proposed that the shot returned to the member that came last should only apply to players with a handicap of 18 or more. A vote was taken and this was rejected to stay the same as it is, with the player who comes last to get a shot back regardless of their handicap.

Outgoing Captain:
Mark Proudley (in Spain) had written a letter to the membership, which Adrian read out, thanking everyone for their support over the year. He admitted that he had really enjoyed being the Captain for the year and wished Fred Nicholls good luck in his Captaincy year.

Incoming Captain:
Fred Nicholls stepped up as Captain following his year as Vice Captain. Fred has chosen July to be his Captain's Day month which will be held at East Horton Golf Club, near Eastleigh.The exact date and details to be advised.
Election of Officers:
Matthew asked if anybody else would care to stand for one of the Officer positions. Richard Knight offered his services and was voted on and the existing committee were unanimously voted in. Members were reminded that the committee also put together the charity day. The committee stands at 8 members.

Vice Captain:

Kevin Dye offered himself up as Vice Captain and the general consensus agreed. A vote was taken and Kevin was elected.

2016 Venues:
Ray ran through the list (as shown under the fixtures page of this site). It was decided to start organising the charity day in February again, this year we have yet to establish the location and date, but a committee meeting within the very near future would identify and set the location and date. Quotes were being obtained.

Our charities for 2015
All monies had been paid out to both Meller Houset at Southampton General Hospital and the Osborne Centre in Dorset and letters of gratitude received from both with photo's being taken.
Choosing charities for 2016
Three worthy causes were put forward and voted upon. The Haven at Titchfield, for ongoing breast cancer therapy wa presented by Adrian KNight, The Countess Mountbatten Hospice in West End, Southampton presented by Kevin Dye and The Flutterby Fund for children with severe learning and walking disabilities based in Bursledon, Southampton was presented by Jonathan Greep.

After much debate it was decided to support the Flutterby Fund and The Countess Mountbatten Hospice. Both charities will be officially notifie shortly.

There was no "Any Other Business.

Prizegiving and Acknowledgements:

Brian Kirby presented the awards. Again, this year the points were extremely close and came down to the last event of the season.
Third place                  Mark Proudley
Second place              Ray Cook
First place                    Richard Knight

Renewal of Memberships:
Pete Stubbs conducted renewals of memberships.

Matthew closed the meeting at around 8:15pm